Tags

, , , ,

In October last year, I could barely run 10 mins on the treadmill.  I was unfit, lazy, and wanted to be better.  Going to the gym regularly and keeping it up made me excited to be getting fitter, and changed my attitude towards exercise.  It makes me feel good, healthier, happier and I’m proud of myself and my mini achievements so far.

Entering 2017, I said I wanted to set myself some challenges this year, so I decided to run a race.  I googled what there was around the 5/10k mark in the area around summer time, and I was pleased to see there is a 10k close by that I can take part in.  That’s it, I thought, that’s the race I’ll do.  I roped in my sister to join me, and we pencilled it in, at the back of our minds!

More recently, we have gathered up a dream team of girls, all of different running and fitness abilities, to join us in our race.  Our common goal?  To run this race to raise some money for Cancer Research UK.

Cancer has been very close to home for my family recently.  A couple of years back, my beautiful mother-in-law was diagnosed with Lymphoma.  For 6 months of last year, she underwent rigorous treatment for both the cancer via Chemotherapy, and also went through treatment for her autoimmune disease, Sjogren’s Disease.  She has come out the other side of it, fit and well for the most part, but has suffered with infections and hospital stays as a result of her weak immune system.  We don’t know when she might next have to face treatment, hopefully not for a long time, but it is so wonderful to know that because of that treatment last year, which somebody researched and spent time developing, she is with us alive and well today.  Maura, this run is for you.

Also, the past 12 months has seen my elderly Nonno suffer with prostate cancer, which has spread to his bones.  He has been in a hospice, and is now in a nursing home, fighting on and even seeing in his 90th birthday recently.  My Nonna, his wife of 65 years, suffers from dementia, and their whole lives have been turned upside down.  Nonno & Nonna, this run is for you.

10 years ago, my husband’s Aunt Paula died after a short battle with cancer.  She was taken too suddenly at such a young age, because of this disease.  Paula and all the Boyd family, this run is for you.

Also, his Aunt Anne has suffered with breast cancer in recent years, and with treatment, has come through it.  Anne, this race is for you.

One of my best friends has a dear friend Lucy, who at the young age of 33 has discovered she has cancer for the 4th time in her life.  We all admire how strong she has been in her life, adventurous in travelling the world and making the most of every opportunity presented to her.  She is doing her own amazing things for cancer research, and will be cheering us on at this 10k.  Lucy, this race is for you.

My mum has all too often seen cancer in her family.  She has lost aunties and her cousin, all too young and I am sad that I haven’t had a chance to get to know these amazing people.  Mum, this race is for you and our wonderful relatives gone too soon.

I have got to know a lovely lady, Franny, who I first met when she photographed Lylah when she was a baby.  We have family and friends in common, our girls do dance classes together and she has taken some amazing family photos with her talent and her camera that I will treasure forever.  She is battling cancer as a woman and a mother and everyday I admire her strength and positivity.  Franny, this race is for you.

This race is for everyone touched by cancer.  The ones who know people and see it from afar, the ones who are living it every day, the ones who have come close with scares themselves, and the ones who will get it in the future.  This race is for all of us.

Back to my running.  I had to set myself a goal for this race, and initially it was to complete it!  In my training I have achieved a 10k, so I know I can do it.  So I’m stepping it up a notch.  I ran 10k in 1 hour 6 mins on my first attempt.  I will be aiming to do it in under an hour on 18th June.  Apparently this is completely possible (!), so there it is.  I will run a 10k in under an hour.

Please support me in this race, and the wonderful work of Cancer Research UK, by donating (please see link below).  I will try my hardest and work hard to reach my time.  But if I don’t, please donate anyway,  this race is for US.

https://fundraise.cancerresearchuk.org/page/annmaries-fundraising-page-16

Thank you x

running meme

 

